HKIE Environmental Division 25th Anniversary Dinner cum Young Green Leader Award Presentation Ceremony

By Ms. Jacqueline Y.T. Chan

The HKIE Environmental Division (EVD) 25th Anniversary Dinner cum Young Green Leader Award Presentation Ceremony was successfully held on 18 March 2013. A number of the distinguished guests joined our celebration, including Guest of Honour, Ms Anissa Wong (Permanent Secretary for the Environment and Director of Environmental Protection of the HKSAR Government), Ir Dr Hon Lo Wai-Kwok, (Legislative Councillor (Engineering constituency)), Ir Prof K.K.Choy (HKIE President) and representatives of the government, foreign consulate generals, consultants, contractors, utilities and universities. This event also served as a special occasion to recognize the contribution of young engineers to our environment and society.

Ir Kenny Wong, the Chairman of EVD gave an inspirational presentation and celebrated with attendees the highlighted activities organised by EVD. This year, EVD has organised over 70 events in which all of them have successfully advocated the importance of sustainability to HKIE members and to the public. Ms Anissa Wong then gave an enlightening speech covering the development and new directions of Hong Kong's environmental policies and strategies.

The highlight of the dinner was the presentation ceremony of the Young Green Leader Award. This Award is the first of its kind in Hong Kong and was launched by EVD to show appreciation to young engineering elites who have made significant contributions to the field of environmental engineering.

The Chairman of the Organising Committee of this Award – Ir C.F. Lam was thrilled to see many young engineers are searching for opportunities to contribute to the environmental field. Eight outstanding candidates were selected out of the 24 high quality submissions to attend an interview by the Judging Panel comprising prominent members of the engineering field. The Champion - Ir Chong Wang Hei, Bruce, a Senior Consultant of Arup, demonstrated notable contribution and leadership in the environmental field, contribution to the society and promotion of environmental awareness. The First-runner up Ir Chan Lai Ting, Lighting from Leighton Contractors (Asia) and Second runner- up Mr. Sandeep Kumar Sharma from CLP Holdings Limited also showed outstanding engineering and leadership quality.

It was a memorable occasion for EVD to celebrate the division success for the past 25 years with the contributions of past chairmen, while recognising the achievements of young members have unfailingly put this event to another level of success. All participants enjoyed this celebration and had a remarkable networking time.



Photo 1 : Guest of Honour Ms Anissa Wong, HKIE President Ir KK Choy, SVP Ir Raymond Chan, VP CC Chan, Ir WK Lo, Ir Kenny Wong together with EVD Past Chairmen



Photo 2 : Ms Anissa Wong, HKIE President and VPs, Award Organizing Committee members and winners, with Champion Ir Bruce Chong (fourth from right, back row)